內容聲明
(中譯本)

(二零零三年,十一月)

2022基金會於去年贊助由李燦輝教授帶領研究,名為<聯繫三角洲:跨越珠江三角洲的橋樑>的報告,主要探討有關香港和珠江三角洲的聯繫對環境和交通規劃的影響。此報告是由麻省理工學院城市研究與土木工程部,和美國麻省的Atmospheric and Environmental Research Inc. (AER) 的研究成員合作完成的。

報告內容主要包括了以下部份﹕從國際觀點分析類似的橋樑/隧道工程,並從不同 的觀點將珠江三角洲和中國其它地區比較,以及探討各方案選址如何速進人流和物流的發展。經過比較和分析國際上的個案,並在工程、費用、集資、政治和環境因素等方面作出參考,研究結果認同Enright等人研究所指,珠三角洲是全世界最大、密度最高的多元中心地區。

此研究分析顯示,這道橋樑若在2010年還未興建,從香港出發可以在三小時內到達的地方,會大幅減小。建議的各個建橋方案,都能夠開放三角洲內各主要部份,並使整個區內得到更大的經濟增長。沿用這三小時標準來測量不同方案的可行性,報告並沒有發現單Y橋和雙Y橋有任何重大之分別,儘管後者之建造費用明顯較為昂貴。

報告亦指出大珠三角洲是全球發展最快的區域之一,這趨勢預料將會持續。從另一角度來看,這道橋能為珠三角洲帶來龐大的機遇,例如在陸地/海港、旅遊、文娛、和不同再生能源的發展項目及環境改善等。

報告同時帶出了一些影響珠江入海口岸長期發展的重點。假如缺乏恰當的規劃和協調,這個珠江三角洲居民共同依靠的水源體系,將不能再繼續提供各種維持生態的功能。以目前這地區急速發展的工業和各種人類活動,入海河道的平均水溫可被提高;而水溫上昇可改變水流的循環規則,使珠江入海口岸有可能受到水災的危害。

2022基金會是由一?熱心的商界機構成立的非牟利組織,希望能加深各界對香港長遠的經濟和社會發展的認識,從而強化和豐富現有的知識平台。贊助機構包括中華電力、大新銀行、溢達集團、琤芼行、港龍航空、香港置地、香港珠江三角基金會、希慎興業、宜高科技創業、嘉里集團、利豐集團和新?基地產。

如欲查詢詳情,請與2022基金會林詩慧聯絡,電話:29597388或電郵: [email protected]

Factual Statement

(November 2003) The 2022 Foundation commissioned a briefing report, "Linking the Delta - Bridging the Pearl River Delta", coauthored by Prof. Tunney Lee et al. last year, with an aim to study the environmental and physical linkages between Hong Kong and the PRD region. The report is the work of a multi-disciplinary team of Massachusetts Institute Technology (MIT) faculty and students from the Departments of Urban Planning and Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Atmospheric and Environmental Research Inc. (AER), headquartered in Lexington, Massachusetts.

The report examined the issue under several perspectives: it invoked international case studies of similar bridges/tunnels, compared the Greater Pearl River Delta Region with other regions, and studied which proposed links might maximize the flows of people and goods. The international cases were analyzed and some lessons were drawn on engineering, costs, financing, political, and environmental issues. The analyses supported Enright et al's finding that the PRD is the world's largest and densest polycentric region.

The study showed that if no bridge were built by 2010, the area covered by a three-hour (or less) drive from Hong Kong would be diminished by a substantial margin. All proposed links would open up major sections of the Delta and allow greater economic growth for the region. Using the same three-hour drive criterion, the analyses, however, did not find significant difference between the single-Y and double-Y configurations, though the construction cost of the latter would be substantially more.

The report also conveyed that the greater PRD is one of the fastest growing regions in the world; and the trend is expected to continue. Thinking beyond the bridge, the development around the link would create enormous opportunities for the Delta, such as land/water, tourism, recreation and alternative renewable energy developments, as well as environmental improvements.

The report also highlighted some issues concerning the long-term future of the regional common --- the Pearl River Estuary (PRE). Without careful regional planning and coordination, the PRE may suffer under huge economic stress, and may even diminish its capacity for providing many life-supporting functions. For instance, the rapidly expanding industrial and human activities may raise the temperature of the estuary water with potential adverse impact on water circulation, creating conditions more prone to the occurrence of devastating floods.

The 2022 Foundation is a privately funded, non-profit organization, formed by a group of concerned business leaders representing various private sectors in Hong Kong, including the CLP Holdings Ltd., Dah Sing Bank, Esquel Group, Hang Seng Bank, Hong Kong Dragon Airlines Ltd., Hong Kong Land Ltd., Hong Kong Pearl River Delta Foundation, Hysan Development Ltd., iTVentures Ltd., Kerry Holdings Ltd., Li & Fung Group and Sun Hung Kai Properties Ltd. The founders dedicate the Foundation to improving understanding of Hong Kong in its long-term economic and social evolutions/trajectories, by deepening and widening its knowledge platform.

For further enquiries, please contact Miss Teresa Lam of the 2022 Foundation at 2959 7388 , or by e-mail at [email protected].